Copycat Cookie Recipe: Walnut-Chocolate Chip

IMAG0577Gotta love the Nestle Tollhouse chocolate chip cookie recipe (at least my Husband does) but I have a wondering eye. I like my cookies to be more fluffy as a “cookie” and chewy. I don’t like flat cookies (chips that are higher than the cookie part), greasy or salty.

The other night I was begging, whining and asking for some chocolate so my husband dropped the bag of chocolate chips in my lap. I rolled my eyes and went looking for my old standby from “Mrs. Fields” first cookie book. I checked the book out from the library so many years ago and never looked back. Can’t remember what page it’s on but it’s her (the one she gave for public release!) Blue-Ribbon Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe. I actually like it better than the one from the store, which I found to be too salty

The key secret to her cookies are baking at the specified low temperature. It is the low temp and longer baking time that gets the cookie to the right consistency. You can chill the dough too which allows time to enhance the flavors.

Here is the recipe word for word, I encourage you to go to her website to snap some other suggestions for cookies too:

“Blue-Ribbon Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup (packed) dark brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 sticks (1 cup) salted butter
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
12 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions
Preheat oven to 300 degrees. In a medium bowl combine flour, soda, and salt. Mix well with wire whisk. Set aside. In a large bowl with an electric mixer, blend sugars at medium speed. Add butter and mix to form a grainy paste, scraping down the sides of the bowl. Add eggs and vanilla extract, and mix at medium speed until just blended. Do not overmix. Add the flour mixture and chocolate chips, and blend at low speed until just mixed. (Again, do not overmix.)

IMAG0573

Drop the dough by rounded tablespoons onto an un-greased cookie sheet, 2 inches apart. Bake low and slow for 18-22 minutes or until golden brown. Transfer cookies immediately to a baking rack or cool surface.”

I filled an entire cookie sheet of the recipe and added 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts to the remainder of the dough. I was craving some walnuts too, I guess. Mmm…don’t you love seeing morsels?

IMAG0575 (2)

What do you think? My Mom’s favorite mix-in are potato chips, not walnuts or chocolate (or even white chocolate) chips! I’ll post that recipe soon because it’s too good not to share.

 Link your fav chocolate chip cookie recipe in a comment.

About WyomingStoryGirl

I like all kinds of recipes and feeding the growling stomachs of my friends and family.

Posted on April 1, 2012, in Foodie, for the Home, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Potato chips! That must be amazing in the sweet-and-salty way. I have really been liking these lately, which would also be great with walnuts: http://emmycooks.com/2012/03/10/whole-wheat-chocolate-chip-cookie-bars/

    • Yes, they are! Walnuts were expensive like Pecans for awhile when I was a kid so she stopped putting the walnuts in. A great beer cookie – potato chips with peanuts! The potato chips keep their crunch, never soggy. Also, they are great fun to break up for kids!

  2. Love your cookies.Thanks for sharing with us at Creative Mondays 🙂

  3. I love chocolate chip cookies and have them from time to time. I would like to taste those that have in walnuts and potato chips! Sounds interesting. Thanks for sharing this on Creative Monday.

Leave a comment