Cable Car Chocolate Brownies

Photo1298 (2)The picture you see contains this recipe as originally printed on the sides of the metal canister. The final product I made is adapted using the recipe from 25 years ago by San Francisco based Ghirardelli Chocolate Factory, aptly titled “Cable Car Chocolate Brownies”. Although they post the equally delicious Empress Chocolate Cake, I couldn’t locate this brownie version among the others.

These turned out very different than what I remember and I attribute that directly to having made some adaptions that I hope replicate for you! I normally use Ghirardelli cocoa powder for brownies even buying their 4 pk. Triple Chocolate brownie mix from Sam’s Club. Unfortunately, Big Boy made a mess and I needed a cheap replacement at the time and what was on sale was Hersey’s. Tonight I dug out this recipe for brownies because it’s simple for me and quick. This recipe at times seems to be hard to find, but you can also find it slightly different here.

Ghirardelli’s Cable Car Chocolate Brownies

2 eggs

¾ C sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

½ C melted butter or margarine

¾ C Ghirardelli Ground Chocolate* (SHOULD BE NOTED AS “SWEET”!)

2/3 C unsifted flour

¼ tsp. baking powder

¼ tsp. salt

½ C chopped walnuts*

Using a spoon, stir eggs with sugar and vanilla; add butter. Sift Ground Chocolate with flour, baking powder, salt. Stir into egg mixture; add nuts. Spread into greased 8 or 9-inch square pan. Bake at 350 degrees F for 20-30 minutes. For extra chewy brownies, use 8-inch pan and less baking time. For cake-like brownies, use 0-inch pan and longer baking. Cut into squares.

 Now the original recipe is great, but this is what I did:

  • I had no idea when I used Hersey’s UNSWEETENED Cocoa that it would give the brownies such a deep, sultry coffee like taste. Next time I’ll try it with both types of cocoa to try for a better balance of chocolate and coffee richness.
  • I also omitted the walnuts (I know, shocking since I have several pounds) but used the last of my chocolate chips that probably amounted to less than 1/4 cup.
  • Add in what you like – both the original version of the recipe and my adaptions result in a very thick mix, you could add up to 3 tablespoons of milk or equivalent “rich” substitute to thin it out slightly.
  • I have a convection setting on my Frigidaire oven (considered a commercial setting for residential use) so I used it. When I’m not paying attention using convection at the typical temperature called for in a recipe is a burnt disaster. Remember when using the convection setting, use the temperature at 325 degrees F. I let the brownies bake for 25 minutes, letting them cook themselves at rest outside the oven.

Photo1297 (2)

About WyomingStoryGirl

I like all kinds of recipes and feeding the growling stomachs of my friends and family.

Posted on April 5, 2012, in Foodie, for the Home, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! This is my fave brownie recipe. Re: using other cocoa, just remember this recipe was on the Ghirardelli sweetened cocoa powder. Look at the Ghirardelli site to see that product. I had tried using a different cocoa years ago and I learned it’s got to be Ghirardelli in the orange can, which is sweetened.

    • Good timing, thanks for the reminder! A few days ago I was making hot cocoa and discovered that I’d picked up the unsweetened Hersey cocoa. That accounts for the coffee taste. I feel like a ‘duh moment when I realized it.

  2. Nice recipe. I love a simple brownie recipe which is easy for the kids 🙂
    I also like the below brownie recipe.
    http://www.wascene.com/food-drink/perfect-chocolate-brownie-recipe/
    Thanks for sharing,

    • Thanks for the link Jen, those brownies look good! I’ve never thought of using caster sugar (which is finer than the sugar in the U.S.) but should be easy to run through my food processing gadget.

  3. Hi There!
    I’m back printing your recipe post to make these brownies today. I did do a tad research on that sweetened cocoa from Ghirardelli.com and they have a substitution page for their products.

    http://www.ghirardelli.com/recipes-tips/working-ghirardelli/substitutions

    Basically this:
    “When you’re baking and you want to substitute one Ghirardelli product for another, try these options. …
    Ghirardelli Sweet Ground Chocolate and Cocoa and Ghirardelli Unsweetened Premium Cocoa: For 1 cup of Ghirardelli Sweet Ground Chocolate and Cocoa, use 1/2 cup Unsweetened Premium Cocoa and 1/2 cup sugar. Mix together prior to adding to the recipe.”

    Just FYI.

    Thanks again for the nice post. Your fellow fan of the Cable Car Brownies,
    Elaine

Leave a comment