Can I Too Be A “Fisherwoman”?

Recently I got my first-ever annual fishing license. I’ve fished before, without a license, as a kid in a pond with no fish. I’ve also bought “day licenses” and spent the day yakking, but bored with fishing as an “experience”.

Big Boy getting tips on what the fish are nibbling...

Making the effort. Some say part of a good relationship requires a certain level of understanding or appreciation of your partners hobbies. It can be as little as knowing terminology to “listen” or finding a great deal on equipment he really wants. I’ve made the effort of the years in our marriage to attempt these things but a lot of timing problems have caused them to be few and far between. Snowmobiling, hunting, and fishing are my husband’s main hobbies. Although he enjoys doing other things I’d say those are his “Big 3”.

Having no role models (male or female) in my life to teach me any of these things let alone see them done, I was left watching men on tv do these kinds of activities. So attempting to ride, hit the broad side of a barn, or reel one in without being soaking wet, are enigmas to me. The biggest obstacle isn’t that my husband isn’t willing to take me with him or teach me, it’s that he is less than forthcoming on things I need to know, “tips”, because of his experience or skill.

“Take fishing – I should have boned up on some skills beforehand by looking on the internet.” Says Wyomingstorygirl, “I don’t even know how to use his fishing pole.”

I didn’t, but we did go fishing yesterday afternoon, meeting up with one of his coworkers and their extended family. Let’s just say my husband and I were on 2 different fishing trips! Husband got his stuff done, left me the fishing rod and walked too far away for even a shouting conversation. *sigh*

Find out the Basics

I know the basics – you need to bait your hook. So I impaled a worm on the barbed hook for my 3.5 years old son and got his set up. Then I did the same for mine. 5 minutes into it, Big Boy has lost 2 worms and is off running around the rocks playing. 3 hours into it, I’d lost 3 worms myself, lost one hook in the rocks, “caught” one 18 foot tree and snarled my line into several pom poms. At least the pom poms allowed me to be able to see where I’ve “cast”.

Looking interested, Husband comes back to see how I’m doing. I must say my Husband has a really bad understanding for “timing”- he’d come back for my “fishing lesson”. Husband tells me what I’ve done wrong: tied my new hook improperly, made a mess of the weights, showed me what to do when my line “spins” and advised I needed to cast overhead (tennis anyone?). I watched from shore as he walked out in his waders to cast. “Why are you casting with my fishing pole?” “To give you the experience of reeling in a fish.” “Um, I think I need to practice my casting first. Can I have my pole back.” After tellig these tidbits Husband was prepared to go back out for another couple hours but as Baby was at camp with friends of the family I was wondering how she was getting on. We turned back before sundown to go home.

Husband was pleased I hadn’t complained or gotten mad. Um, apparently he really was too far away to hear me swear like a sailor. No, you missed that, I vowed to go online to learn what I needed and I’ll take the kids fishing by myself.

View of the North Platte River from Trappers Route, Casper, Wyoming

Maybe some tips in these related articles could give you the edge the next time you attempt to lure a tree or you know, a trout…

About WyomingStoryGirl

I like all kinds of recipes and feeding the growling stomachs of my friends and family.

Posted on March 25, 2012, in for the Home, Outdoors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

