Back of the Bag Recipe: Banana Bread

Do you ever notice on the back of packaging there are “suggested” ways to use the product? Every so often you get a real winner, while others you wonder why they bothered because they were so bad.

I was wondering what I could make that would be sweet, easy to make, and quick to bake. I was wanting muffins and my eyes lighted on the banana nut bread recipe on the back of the flour bag. Why not? A new recipe is always welcome, right?

Photo1197

Banana Nut Bread (from ConAgra Mills, Bakers & Chefs division “enriched &  bleached All-Purpose H&R Flour)

1 3/4 Cups flour

3/4 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1 Cup sugar

2 eggs

2/3 cup vegetable oil

3 Tbsp. milk

1 Cup (2 large) mashed bananas

1/2 Cup chopped nuts

Mix together flour, baking soda, salt, sugar. Blend in eggs, oil, and milk. Stir in banana and nuts. Pour batter into greased 8 1/2 X 4 1/2 X 2 1/2 inch pan. Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 1 hour or until toothpick inserted in center of loaf comes out clean.

Photo1198

While I had 2 bananas on their way out I didn’t have any nuts except slivered almonds, which is what I used as a garnishment only on top. It didn’t taste too bad, it was still moist despite leaving it in the oven too long because I forgot to set the timer.

About WyomingStoryGirl

I like all kinds of recipes and feeding the growling stomachs of my friends and family.

Posted on March 20, 2012, in Foodie, for the Home, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Looks delicious!

  2. How much salt?
    I’m hoping to try this… but your ingredient list didn’t have the salt listed.
    thank you.

  3. Thanks for sharing your recipe. I am the only soul in the world who doesn’t like bananas, but my Mom loves banana bread. I’m sure she would really enjoy it. Thanks for sharing at my party!

    • I have an oral allergy to bananas so they taste like pepperoni to me. ugh. But I had the age old problem: 2 bananas with black spots that no one was going to eat. I always love a good version of my fav eats, so I hope she enjoys this version. Maybe she can give me her fav banana bread recipe!

  4. i am going to make 8 of this. how do i change the the ingredients to make 8? i hope you read and reply before thursday. and be able to help me. thank you very much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

