Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss!

I’m not much on keeping up with celeb’s and other famous people birthdays. Last week did you see this awesome Dr. Seuss party theme? It never occurred to me that The Lorax and all these “theme” posts were because of the beloved authors 108th birthday.

Anyway, last night I made this blue tinted cheesecake with cherries on top:

Photo1102

A friend asked me “what is that?” which came out sounding more like “eww, what IS that?” I know her, so that wasn’t how she meant it. Another wondered if I was celebrating Dr. Seuss’s birthday with creativity. Bless her. ha-ha. Next time I’ll use a homemade version of the pie filling (less “sauce”) and try a blue and white swirl for a 4th of July picnic.

Any parent with little kids knows quite often you finding yourself trying to tint eggs (green eggs) and color all kinds of things (tie-dye anyone?) so yes, I was tinting cream cheese frosting blue for some cupcakes earlier in the day. I needed to make a cheesecake for dinner fast and I’d not used the 3-Step Cheesecake recipe before and…leftover blue frosting came up with a blue cheesecake. The cherry pie filling I used as topping gave it this strange brown tint in the picture. Hubby was not a fan of the 3-Step recipe deciding after one bite (and almost putting it back, spit and all) asked me not to make it anymore because that “wasn’t cheesecake.” I took a bite, and although I’ve eaten this recipe in the past, I agreed that I wouldn’t make it again.

While cheesecake seems to have the same ingredients, a slight variation in the amount of minus/addition of one can drastically alter the final product. About a month ago I made a cheesecake and ended up with a ricotta style (because I didn’t use ricotta cheese) that I identify with an Italian NY style. I didn’t like it much but hubby liked it the best of all. Disappointing because my preferred style, is, as one friend declared it, “tastes like plastic.”

What’s you favorite cheesecake style? Got a recipe that gets raves each time? Forget “Best Cheesecake Ever” description…leave me a comment with a link describing it as “plastic”, “ricotta” or ….

About WyomingStoryGirl

I like all kinds of recipes and feeding the growling stomachs of my friends and family.

Posted on March 4, 2012, in Foodie and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. anything from the Cheesecake Factory. 😉

Leave a Reply

