Egg-cellence Challenge & Essay Contest – Day 5 & 6 with Farm Fresh Eggs: End of the Road

English: Three chicken eggs of contrasting col...

Image via Wikipedia

Um…I’d post new pics but I did them the same way I did previously. I wanted to make an omelet but I’m not a fan of the items I have in my fridge that would be its ingredients. I’m just not a fan of bell peppers, onions, and mushrooms!!

Let me change course and ramble a bit of the thoughts I’ve been having…and anxieties.

First, I thank this contest for bringing to focus an issue I didn’t know was possible to resolve for me personally. As we drew to a close on Week 1 – Farm Fresh Eggs I realized  I didn’t want to use store bought eggs because of the known gas and digestive problems it would give me in just one serving of an egg! And I mean, real sweaty palms anxiety. For as long as I can remember eggs on their own have made me sick to my stomach unless they were cooked in a dish. I have found now that the farm eggs I got from Doris are so unlike ANY egg I’ve eaten in, well, DECADES…that I don’t care to continue on with the contest because I don’t want to egg store bought eggs on their own for breakfast. Yes, I will provide a link for the ladies at Realfoodfreaks to see what has happened to me and why I must withdraw.

I’ve got some obstacles to overcome, 1) my husband, 2) the distance vs. quantity of eggs and 3) price of eggs.

I want to continue buying eggs from Doris. My husband disagrees with me on continuing to buy my Doris $1.50/doz eggs. His reasons are that at that price they are still expensive (it seems he’s out of touch with egg prices), but the distance of 25 minutes to obtain them makes them more expensive than store eggs. And as Glenrock, Wyoming, is concerned, it is such a small town that the only reasons I go are to pass on to Douglas, WY (or beyond), the doctor, the park, or dinosaur museum. If I coordinate my trips for eggs with another activity in the area and arrange for at least 6 dozen eggs that should outstrip the mileage costs, don’t you think? Doris only has 30 chickens…haha.

I agree that it makes them about as expensive, but with the in town local egg farmer (the one I mentioned in a previous post selling for $3.49/doz) becoming a larger and larger outfit intent on egg farming which may already be in a place where the eggs will cause me digestive issues. At $3.49/doz I don’t think I’m going to try out their eggs anytime soon unfortunately. My options are limited right now and having my own layers isn’t one.

I am also looking at food differently because I’m staying at home as a homemaker; I need to make food from scratch as store bought/prepared foods are getting expensive to mix with real fruits and veggies. By making from scratch I save “per unit” by buying basic ingredients at bulk rates. That allows me to purchase those expensive fresh fruits and veggies.

Another good reason is that when I had gestational diabetes with my second child (Baby) I learned a lot about how food is broken down by the body. I metabolize food differently than I did before I had my first pregnancy…and I’m at risk by family history too for Type 2 diabetes. I don’t want to be diabetic because for me that means that I’ve continued to live an unhealthy lifestyle (overweight and sedentary). I want to eat with an approach that is more “diabetic” which includes eating eggs for breakfast for the protein and nutrients, fresh fish (my husband fishing and fishing is allowed year-round) when possible, and dishes like Minestrone. Including farm fresh eggs alone and in dishes will make my food healthier at the very least and at the most, be a preventive factor in avoiding Type 2 diabetes.

What choices have you made when presented with costs vs. quality?

About WyomingStoryGirl

I like all kinds of recipes and feeding the growling stomachs of my friends and family.

Posted on February 14, 2012, in Challenges, Foodie, for the Home and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

