Turn the Mundane into Exotic: Foodie #1

I love food. I like to cook. I really love to eat. 🙂

Lately I’ve been making food history to me, at least, and have been documenting it in photos on my Facebook page. Don’t ask to be friends on it, I use it to keep in contact with family and childhood friends. I plan to have a professional Facebook page someday and then I’ll share.

Moving on..this is my take on the General Tso’s recipe made from Elk. I cook a hybrid of scratch & prepared, but excited to try everything from scratch in 2012! The seasoning packet from Sun-Bird also has a coupon you can download. I wait for a $0.99 sale and buy, buy, buy. My DH also loves egg drop soup, just add an egg to their soup packet and voila, soup ready to eat in 15 minutes.

General Tso’s (Inspired) Elk

Browning the Meat

1 lb. elk, cut into bit size chunks

1/4 cup flour

2 Tbsp oil (any kind will do, just remember Olive Oil will smoke at a faster than vegetable oil -like canola)

Sauce

1 package of Sun-Bird Seasoning, General Tso’s Chicken flavor

1/4 cup sugar

3 Tbsp soy sauce

3/4 cup water

To prepare:

Put the oil in a skillet and turn the heat on medium. Get the pan good and hot because you’ll be browning the elk.

Begin by coating the chunks of meat into a baggie sealed with flour. Put the chunks side by side but not touching in the skillet. The flour will give the elk a good brown sear, only taking a few minutes each side. Remember, you aren’t cooking the elk because the simmering stage with the other ingredients will cook it to perfection!

While your elk is browning, follow directions on the back of the seasoning packet to make the simmering sauce by stirring together the seasoning packet, sugar, soy sauce, and water. Set aside.

When you’ve browned your elk, pour the simmering sauce in the skillet. The next step is easy, reduce heat, and simmer until it reaches the consistency. About 10 minutes in, add your vegetables. Fresh or frozen, I like red, yellow and green bell peppers, chopped onions, peas, carrots, and anything else you’d like: baby corn, broccoli, mushrooms, etc.!

The piece of elk I had was large so I cut off what I wanted for the recipe above and put the other cut into the oven with just salt and cracked black pepper. 40 minutes at 375 in my oven and it was ready for slicing for my DH’s lunch the next day. Take a look, doesn’t this look good?

This is how I do it, let me know how you take the mundane to the exotic with a comment!

I linked this at http://asouthernfairytale.com/

About WyomingStoryGirl

I like all kinds of recipes and feeding the growling stomachs of my friends and family.

Posted on January 2, 2012, in Foodie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

